rebels and rebellions, story a day challenge, wippet wednesday

#FictMAYhem #StoryADay #WIPpet Wednesday – May 10, 2017

Hello everyone! It’s WIPpet Wednesday again. It’s also quite late where I am, so this is very quick.

If you’ve never heard of WIPpet Wednesday, this is a weekly blog hop hosted by yours truly. If you’re a writer, you are very welcome to join us by posting an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date. You can click the blue guy on the right of this blog to be taken to the link up.

I’m continuing with the Story A Day In May challenge, so once again, my snippet relates to the date because I wrote it today. 😛 I have a tentative title for the Memories and Magic sequel, and that is Rulers and Rebellions. I kinda like it. One of the major plot points in this story (so far; as I explained last week, the whole point of doing this challenge is to try to work out the plot and some new characters) is that Clara has lost her magic. In this scene, she’s trying to explain what that feels like.

Today’s prompt is: Mourn.

Clara tried to explain. “For me, it’s not just the practical side of being unable to do magic. That’s difficult but it’s only part of the story. The Aligarian Mages get their magic through drawing Runes, but for me, the magic is a part of me. I was born with it. And now it’s gone, and it’s like part of me has been ripped away. Sometimes I can’t breathe, I’m feeling the loss so strongly.” She smiled wryly. “I cried myself to sleep last night. When I drifted off in the meeting earlier, it wasn’t because I wasn’t paying attention. It was because for a moment I’d managed to forget, and then something reminded me, and for a second I couldn’t breathe again.”

She paused and thought about it. “It’s like someone died,” she said finally. “It’s like I’ve lost  my parents all over again.”

And with that, I leave you and go to bed! I’ll see you later!

Leave a Reply

